House Door Open - Wicker basket with bottle near old house door
Image by Maria Orlova on

What Certifications Should a High-security Lock Have?

When it comes to protecting your home or business, having a high-security lock is essential. But how do you know if the lock you’re considering is truly secure? One way to determine this is by looking for specific certifications that indicate a lock meets industry standards for high security. In this article, we will explore the certifications that a high-security lock should have.

UL 437 Certification: Ensuring Pick Resistance

One of the most important certifications for a high-security lock is the UL 437 certification. This certification ensures that the lock has undergone rigorous testing to resist picking and manipulation attempts. UL 437 tests the lock against various picking techniques, including lock picking, impressioning, and key decoding. If a lock has a UL 437 certification, you can be confident that it has met the highest standards for pick resistance.

ANSI/BHMA Grading: Assessing Durability and Security

Another important certification to look for is the ANSI/BHMA grading. This certification evaluates the durability and security of a lock based on a set of rigorous performance tests. The grading ranges from Grade 1 (the highest) to Grade 3 (the lowest). For a high-security lock, it is recommended to choose a lock with a Grade 1 or Grade 2 certification. These locks have been tested to withstand heavy use and resist forced entry attempts.

ASTM F883 Certification: Verifying Drill Resistance

Drilling is a common method used by burglars to bypass locks. To ensure your high-security lock can withstand drilling attempts, look for the ASTM F883 certification. This certification verifies that the lock has been tested against drilling techniques commonly used by criminals. A lock with this certification will have reinforced components and additional measures in place to prevent drilling attacks.

UL 437 and ANSI/BHMA Grading: The Perfect Combination

While both UL 437 and ANSI/BHMA grading certifications are important on their own, a high-security lock that has both certifications provides an even higher level of protection. UL 437 certification ensures pick resistance, while ANSI/BHMA grading evaluates durability and security. By choosing a lock that has both certifications, you can have peace of mind knowing that your lock has been thoroughly tested and meets the highest industry standards for high security.

Additional Certifications to Consider

In addition to the certifications mentioned above, there are a few other certifications that can further enhance the security of a high-security lock.

– ASTM F588: This certification tests the lock against attacks using saws and other cutting tools. A lock with this certification will have additional protective measures to resist cutting attempts.

– CEN Rating: The CEN rating is a European standard that evaluates the security level of locks. It ranges from Grade 1 (the highest) to Grade 6 (the lowest). When choosing a high-security lock, look for a lock with a CEN Grade 4 or Grade 5 certification.

Conclusion: Choosing a Certified High-Security Lock

When it comes to protecting your home or business, choosing a certified high-security lock is crucial. Look for certifications such as UL 437, ANSI/BHMA grading, ASTM F883, ASTM F588, and CEN rating to ensure that the lock meets industry standards for pick resistance, durability, and resistance against drilling, cutting, and other attacks. By investing in a lock with these certifications, you can enhance the security of your property and have peace of mind knowing that you are taking the necessary steps to deter potential intruders.